Taking a Student

Journeys in the SCA are unique to us all. If you told me a few years ago, I’d be taking a student of my very own, I probably would have raised an eyebrow at you and laughed a bit. What follows is the story of a connection, a question, and recognition.

A little over a year ago, probably closer to two now, I met Collette de Avignon. She was very new, and nervous. But we bonded over scribal arts and life. Collette is this amazing sponge. She takes in everything she sees and processes it. She actively listens and engages in conversations when she has questions. She is joy and curiosity packaged up.

At Great Northeastern War in 2019, after spending more time with her and watching her continue to blossom and bond with my Laurel, Camille des Jardins, I knew she needed to be part of our family. On Friday evening, I spoke with Camille and suggested she take her as an apprentice. Camille just smiled and said I should take her as a student, and she would support me. After all, she did call me “boss lady” already.

What did I have to teach her? But Camille was right. We had a fantastic bond and I was ready for taking that step. I was determined to be support for her. Whether as my student, friend, or both. I knew that if I couldn’t provide the answer she needed, I could direct her to the people who could.

Collette and I spent much of Saturday walking site talking about goals and aspirations, trials and struggles, and various aspects of this hobby we love so much. I wanted to make sure what she wanted, was something I could support and give. That evening, under the moonlight, while around a campfire and with Camille at my side, I asked if Collette would be my student. By the grace of the stars above us, she said yes, and we were immediately family.

Due to a series of events, we wouldn’t formalize the relationship until A Market Day at Birka in January of 2020. I presented her with a blue belt, which was made by a dear friend of mine, with the words “In Devotione Pulchritudo” woven in. Loosely translated, it means “there is beauty in passion”. When I watch Collette, she is filled with drive and passion for knowledge. She is this natural sponge who learns and absorbs everything about her. It is absolutely beautiful to watch.

I vowed to her that day, I would be there for her for as long as she needed (and wanted) me. And should she choose to walk another path, I would help her find the teachers she needed. I would aid her in whatever way possible, and was in my ability to do. I would listen. I would learn. She would teach me, as much as I would teach her, and together we would continue out paths in the SCA.

undefined

That same day, our fearless Queen Margarita made her a Companion of the Silver Brooch, the award for the study of arts and sciences in the East Kingdom. I was able to gift to her my Silver Brooch, which was made by John of Yseau. In that moment, getting to see her recognized for the work she had done already, and her love of art, made my heart sing.

The scroll she received was crafted by myself, and my great-great Grand Laurel Mistress Bryn De Luna. I was able to put words to paper, and provide the calligraphy, and Bryn the illumination. Below are the words and calligraphy I completed.

Leave a comment