Order of the Golden Mantle

I was notified near the beginning of the year, that a dear friend of mine was receiving the Order of the Golden Mantle at Panteria.  I already had one project in the queue for him, but I got super excited and sent off an email to the Signet requesting to do his scroll.  Now, I was a new scribe, and hadn’t quite proven myself but the Signet took a chance on me, granting me the request so long as my mentor was in the loop about my progress.

Originally, I had planned a bit of Book of Kells for him, but it didn’t end up working the way I intended.  In talking a bit with my soon to be Laurel, we sourced some31681423_1982754098462635_7435211949907902464_n (1) pages from her books and the following one struck my eye from Nova Statuta Anglia.

Working in batarde for a hand was ridiculously hard.  I didn’t think it would be as hard as gothic for me, but it was pretty damn close.  Angles and swoops are a thing.  I also learned a little more about spacing, and that’s a thing that you’ll see later on is a bit better.  Invariably, the later period hands are just not what I enjoy, at least … not right now.  But I’m sure I will get there.  I really am.  Maybe. (Also, maybe not. And that’s okay.)

The illumination for this piece was fun.  I did a lot of freehand sketching around the edge to mimic the exemplar as best I could in the space I had.  I learned a lot about swoops and angles of acanthus leaves while determining their paths and direction.  When I began to paint, the shapes started to get more clear to me, which helped.  To get the little finicky fine lines, I used a crow quill and watered down gouache.  That was a self realized genius moment.  I know others do it (now), but in the moment I thought I had a super genius idea.  So go me!

Overall, I was really happy with all the things I learned while working on this piece.  And as a final bit of fun, I had the recipient carry his own scroll to the event.  Sorry, not sorry.

The process and final pieces can be found here:

Process: https://photos.app.goo.gl/8nUvxUfAWVDXTB2A7

20180519_191513
Scroll Complete May 2018

Words provided by Edmund Beneyt
Calligraphy & Illumination: Me
Paper: Strathmore 300 series Bristol, Vellum Finish 11×14
Ink: Higgins Eternal
Nib: Mitchell #5
Paint: Holbein Gouache, Winsor & Newton Gold

Leave a comment