Silver Wheel – Diana Spencer

Up next came an assignment for a Silver Wheel for Crown’s Fencing Champions.  This scroll got moved to an event 3 weeks later, which resulted in me having a scroll done…wait for it… 4 weeks before it was needed in court!

This scroll had a special requirement.  In discussing inspiration with Camille, she requested I take something I had done in the past and make it better.  I reviewed my early scrolls, and immediately happened upon acanthus leaves.  The early scroll had acanthus, but they were solid colors, no shading.  So I tackled this full bore.

The new inspiration had some gold … I’ll call them ‘twiddles’… that I instantly fell in love with.

Egerton 1070  f.29v
courtesy British Library (Egerton 1070 f 29.v)

There was definitely a lot going on in the source page, but I tackled each step independently.  When it came to the actual acanthus, I spent a lot of time shooting pictures back and forth with Camille, working out shading and tones.

I also had to deal with drawing and painting a person.  In this case, I adapted the angel to represent our Queen.  I was pretty pleased with the way the fabric shaded.

Here is the final piece, and below that is the slideshow of the in progress photos.

75429715_408644620085247_2379562656810926080_n (1)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Calligraphy and Illumination: Audrye Beneyt
Words: Edmund Beneyt

Leave a comment