Award of Arms – Natal’ia Bolotkinova

I received a request for an Award of Arms for a young lady from the Barony of Settmour Swamp.  It was the first assignment I had where I had never met the recipient, nor knew anything about her.  A little Facebook stalking, and a reach out to the award contact brought me a bit of information.  She dabbled a bit in Rus and really liked her boars.  Though she had no arms, I wanted to include boars in whatever I did to help personalize the award for her.

I began researching and with an assist from my husband, we stumbled upon the Egbert Psalter.  The manuscript had traveled a bit, and spent some time in Kiev where some pages had been added.  The illuminations were beautiful and in “thumbing” through the pages, I fell upon the page below which just blew me away.

egbert
Egbert Psalter, c 977-1086

The first thing I noticed which might need altering was the border.  With everything surrounding the Snartemo band, I sought some opinions from some trusted sources.  We were in agreement, that the border should be changed for the sanity of everyone.  I opted for a simple greek key pattern as I felt it would keep with the aesthetic.  In addition, I altered the background to include boars for the recipient.

The final piece was done on a 9×12 inch piece of pergemenata.  This was the first piece I had done on perg, and it proved to be a challenge as it was not as flat as I would have liked.  However, writing on it was magical.  I prepared it with a little gum sandarac.  Once I had dusted it off, I lined it for the calligraphy.  The hand was akin to Carolingian miniscule, and I felt like I had accomplished it well.  In the last few pieces, I have realized I struggle with spacing and that is something I will work on.  This one, however, was not bad.

Once the calligraphy made it on to the page, I began the painting.  After several sessions, I ended up with a completed piece with no black gouache on it–a first for me.  I was quite happy with the end result, and was happy to hear the recipient loved it.  Below is the slideshow of the progress from start to finish.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Paper: Natural Pergemenata
Ink: Ian the Green Iron Gall Ink
Paint: Holbein Artists’ Gouache / Winsor & Newton Gold Gouache
Words: Lord Edmund Beneyt

Leave a comment