Silver Rapier: Allerick Van den Broecke

When I finished up my assignments for Twelfth Night, I immediately got antsy to do more. I felt confident this was a good sign. I really felt like I was happy with doing scribal work, even if I’m still so new, and things look a little rough.

I was a little impatient, so I prodded Mistress Camille. As it turned out, she had a backlog scroll hanging out on her “To Do” list. She wasted no time in shipping it my way. Maybe in part so I might pester her less. Just kidding, she has been an incredible resource for me.

The scroll was a Silver Rapier given out by Brennan and Caoilfhionn during their second reign. The words had already been written by Nicol mac Donnachaidh. All I needed to do was get everything on to the paper. I started by taking a look at a few fencing manuals to get some inspiration. I landed myself on the Opus Amplissimum de Arte Athletica from 16th century Germany. The art on each of the pages was wonderful to look through, and the calligraphy was a subset of Gothic, which I had been working on.

In looking at a few pictures of Allerick, I found a panel I felt would suit him based on appearance, and one I felt confident I could recreate. Folio 33r provided some opportunity for me to improve my beginner’s skills and also display my own confidences.

800px-MS_Dresd.C.93_033r.png
Folio 33r, Opus Amplissimum de Arte Athletica

I went through a few rounds of practicing the calligraphy before I began work on the scroll. I wanted to do my best to recreate the page, and in doing so, the block of calligraphy was important.

Once I had the calligraphy in hand, I blocked out the page. I used a piece of 11″x14″ Strathmore bristol with a vellum finish. I measured in margins and then added in the block for the image itself.

Rather than drawing lines for my calligraphy on to the sheet, I put them on a piece of cardstock and taped it to the back which allowed me to put the calligraphy on with the use of a light table.

The calligraphy seen here is a form of Gothic, sometimes called “blackletter”. Thankfully, I had done a piece recently which also featured gothic writing (Lorencio de Matteo’s OSM). I had the opportunity to improve my skills a bit and felt I was able to get a better handle on the spacing as it relates to the width of the nib I was using. I did a couple of practice runs before getting in to the nitty gritty and putting the ink to the scroll.

Then came all the paint. There was so much paint! But I really had a lot of fun with it, and hope he likes it. Layer after layer went in to create the characters and I feel I did a pretty good job capturing the likenesses. Flesh tones will forever be the bane of my existence, though. Below you’ll find the process photos for the piece.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Paper: Strathmore 300 series Bristol – Vellum Finish 11×14″
Ink: Higgins Eternal
Paint: Holbein Gouache
Words: Lord Nicol mac Donnachaidh

Leave a comment